Reviews

CRUACHAN HOLIDAY HOME GUEST REVIEWS

Reviews from guests of Cruachan Holiday Home

Read what everyone is saying about their holiday stay at Cruachan Holiday Home self-catering accommodation located in Lochinver, Assynt.

booked via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
09/08/2021

This house is ideally placed for lovers of the outdoors. It comfortably fit our needs as a party of 5, one with mobility issues. Plenty of space with TV’s in each room complete with Netflix, ideal for a family with young kids.

John

booked via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
24/07/2021

I can’t imagine better place to spend a week. Cozy, well equipped house with character and beautiful views around.

Iliana

Home from home in stunning location - booked via VRBO

Rated 5 out of 5
10/07/2021

A true home from home. Stunning setting (saw deer and pine marten), loads of space to spread out, great WiFi & TVs (a real hit with my son especially during the Euros), very comfy and warm and well equipped with everything we needed. The area is just magical with superb walks all around. Recommend the pie shop! Definitely want to return.

Nicky T.

Beautiful cottage, spacious, superbly equipped, brilliant location, gorgeous garden and stunning views. – booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
03/07/2021

Cruachan Holiday Home is a lovely, light, airy comfortable cottage. There’s lots of space and the cottage is very well equipped. There’s a fantastic smart television with access to Netflix etc. The kitchen has everything even the most discerning chef might need. The beds are so comfortable it makes getting up difficult! The garden is lovely with beautiful planting, but also some semi-wild areas. A very short walk through the garden gate takes you to a small hill with breath-taking views over the sea and distant islands – stunning – especially at sunset. We are already planning to return.

Steve & Maggie Willis

Beautiful, spacious home - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
22/06/2021

Cruachan is a beautiful, spacious home. The location is fantastic.
This is not a critcism but we did not know the drive and walk are uphill to the door. We are both a little decrepit. Having said that we were very pleased with our holiday at Cruachan. We must thank the owners for renting out this fabulous home.

John Grosdanoff

This is lovely, spacious, comfortable home - booked via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
06/06/2021

This is lovely, spacious, comfortable home, well situated for Lochinver and for Assynt. There is a gate from the garden leading to a viewpoint with magical views over the sea and the mountains. A great base for the area.

Prem

Sea view garden cottage! - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
01/06/2021

A lovely super sized bungalow in a beautiful garden with the bay in view.
The house was spotless, We loved the huge windows with views on all sides. You could want for nothing.
Excellent location also, only a couple of miles south of Lochinver.

Angela Bowie

Lovely property in quiet location - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 4 out of 5
17/05/2021

Spacious, comfortable and well equipped this property is ideal for those wanting peace and tranquillity. Sharing the space with sheep and a couple of red deer is as busy as it gets. Ideal base for climbing Suilven; the main purpose of our trip. Many other walks and stunning beaches to enjoy.

Sheila Wilson

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
27/10/2020

Highly recommended!

Krzysztof

Very comfortable and well appointed - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
21/09/2020

We have just returned from a wonderful 6-night stay at Cruachan. The house was spotless and extremely well equipped to a high standard, even down to cleaning products, cling film and logs and kindling for the stove. There are two fridges and two freezers and plenty of space to store food as well as clothing and boots. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and it’s a great setting, close to Lochinver but peaceful. It feels like a home rather than a holiday let and we certainly would return to this lovely house. The only tiny thing we missed was an ice cube tray but we just kept the gin in the freezer instead 🙂

Judith Lowes

Excellent place, ticks all the boxes! - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
27/07/2020

Just back from a great stay at Cruachan; first stay after Covid restrictions eased. The property was spotlessly clean with well thought out provisions and protocols for the Covid situation, which in no way impacted our enjoyment. The photos don’t do the property justice, its larger more spacious and more comfortable than it appears, with plenty of room to bounce about. Also it was really well equipped with excellent facilities. The sunsets from the rocky knoll behind the house were exceptional. Location just a short drive outside Lochinver, in the most stunning countryside with abundant wildlife.is really good for everything Assynt has to offer. Finally, dealing with the owner was a pleasure, regular contact, detailed information and a nice welcome pack. Thoroughly recommend this place.

Crispin Marriott

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
23/01/2020

William’s home is incredible! Huge open spaces, lots of places to read, write, eat or cozy up to the fire. Fast wifi, smart TV, huge bathtub, spacious clean bedrooms, and windows everywhere! Staying here was a dream and the views from every part of the property are breathtaking. Highest recommendations!

Julie M.

BOOKED DIRECT

Rated 5 out of 5
04/01/2020

Dear Billy and Ediane
We just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful stay at your lovely home, Cruachan. We felt we have stayed in a real home from home and have enjoyed such a relaxing time there. The house was spotlessly clean and so well-equipped. We loved the garden which we imagine in spring would be a lovely place to sit; it was great to watch the young stags and hinds just beyond the garden.
We have had a great week with lots of lovely local walks and on the beaches which Seamus has loved. We also enjoyed a breezy but sunny walk up Stac Pollaidh.
Many thanks once again and Happy New Year to you both

Kathryn and Paul

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
26/12/2019

Du 5 étoiles !!! L’accueil, les informations, la maison, son emplacement, l’ensemble au delà de nos attentes. Merci William de nous avoir reçu chez vous 🙂
5 stars !!! The welcome, the information, the house, its location, the whole beyond our expectations. Thank you William for hosting us 🙂

Antonio G.

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
18/10/2019

Very comfortable stay in a fantastic location for exploring the gorgeous hikes and beaches nearby. Kids found the garden perfect for hide-and-seek games too.

Kate C.

Really Great – booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
01/10/2019

Great holiday cottage, lots of space, everything we needed and more. Very comfortable.

Nicole

via Trip Advisor “The Aerial Photo Says It All”

Rated 5 out of 5
21/09/2019

Cruachan House is down a single track road, very narrow (described by some as a “wee mad road”), in an incredible setting of dramatic rocks and views of the sea. The entry foyer has a fainting couch and bench for your stuff, and hooks for coats, the perfect place to stage your comings and goings. The living room has a long couch and an easy chair, a wood-burning stove (wood supplied), and pleasing art on every wall. Down a few steps to a breakfast room with large picture windows looking out to rocky hillsides and water views. A larger dining room table is between the large sun porch and the kitchen. Down the hall is a guest bathroom with both tub and shower (wonderful long deep tub, and they even supplied bath oil), then three bedrooms, one with two twin beds, one with one twin bed, and one with a double bed and another bathroom. And then there’s the sun porch, which adds a significant amount of space. Although we were there in late September, we found that the house gets hot with the afternoon sun, so we pulled the drapes and shades when we left on our daily expeditions to keep things a bit cooler. Walking up behind the house we had unobstructed views of the sea, and were surrounded by heather and stunning rocks. Lochinver seemed to have moved on to winter hours before the advertised date of September 30, so nothing was open except the Co-op, which was full of people buying for their caravans and perhaps for other self-catering places. Otherwise the town was empty. We hiked Billy’s Trail, in the Culag Woods, and had it all to ourselves. Peaceful. Quiet harbor. Highly recommended.

LandCruisers

via Homeaway

Rated 5 out of 5
17/09/2019

This property was perfect for the four of us, two retired couples. We were there for 3 nights…one of the days during a heavy wind storm. It was a great place to ride out and watch the storm. It was a good starting point for touring the area, and the house itself is well appointed. You do, of course, need a car as there is not public transportation.
Date of arrival – 13 September 2019

Hazel T

via Homeaway

Rated 5 out of 5
15/09/2019

Great location, views and walks around were beautiful! Straight forward, very easy.

Miriam S.

via Homeaway - Versteckt und märchenhaft schöne Lage - Hidden and fairytale beautiful location

Rated 5 out of 5
13/09/2019

Super Lage in atemberaubender Landschaft, großes Haus mit wunderbarem Wintergarten zum entspannen, vogelbeobachten und abschalten vom Alltag . – Super location in breathtaking scenery, large house with a wonderful winter garden to relax, birdwatching and switch off from everyday life.

Martina O.

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
05/09/2019

We had a great stay, accommodation was amazing!

Mark B

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
01/09/2019

Lovely, well equipped place in a delightful location. Lots of thoughtful extras

Bruce W

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
21/08/2019

La maison est immense, très propre et entièrement équipée. Tout s est passé parfaitement. On recommande.
The house is huge, very clean and fully equipped. Everything went perfectly. We recommend.

Jean-Baptiste

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
31/07/2019

Fantastic place – unique corner of Scotland

Annick

Everything was great. - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
24/07/2019

Everything was so enjoyable it is impossible to single out any aspect of our stay as better than any other. The cottage, the location, the views, the local people, everything and everyone made our stay delightful. It is a wonderful place to stay and to enjoy a great and memorable vacation.

Joe Warren

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
28/06/2019

The house was wonderfully equipped for all of our needs. It has beautiful views down to the loch. We stayed three nights and were sad to leave. Billy is a great host and answered all of my questions quickly. We were closely situated to some great hiking for which we took full advantage. Lochinver Pie Shop was amazing if you’re looking for good meat or sweet pies. I highly recommend this cottage if you want to enjoy the Highlands.”

Cathy

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
15/06/2019

Spacious accommodations and a great location for exploring the area. Beautiful sunsets! Hope to return.

Sharon

Perfect getaway

Rated 5 out of 5
09/06/2019

Lovely spacious cottage with everything you need. Large spacious spotless rooms. TV, DVD player, Netflix and a range of DVD’s available. There are fans in every room , if needed. Bird feeders in the back garden, it was lovely to watch the variety of birds feeding; we bought bird seed from the spa in Lochinver. We walked to the village within around 30-35 minutes, lovely walk; although a little hilly it wasn’t too strenuous. Would definitely recommend and we hope to return. Only downside, nothing to do with the cottage, but when we visited in May 2019 the pub in the village had closed down. By the way, can recommend the Lochinver Larder for food and drink, the pies were fabulous.

Mark and Jennifer

via HomeAway

Rated 5 out of 5
04/06/2019

Lovely comfortable and cozy house about a mile south of Lochinver. Well equipped and furnished. We will definitely consider going back again for our next trip. A big thank you to the owner/s – we loved it.

Mark

Highland retreat via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
19/05/2019

Amazing place to stay. Everything you could wish for and more in this bungalow with nice gardens merging into the borrowed landscape. Great peaceful location near village with some limited amenities (good for this far north), but great eateries. Good base for stunning local beaches, lochs or Munros (and geology if that floats your boat). Cant recommend highly enough. Could have stayed forever.

Richard Brooker

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
27/04/2019

The house is an extremely spacious bungalow with a garden all around the building. There are terrific views from inside the house and if you’re in the mood to explore, there’s a gate out on to the hill with even better views. One of the very best Airbnb properties I’ve ever experienced.

David

Happy family holiday in a lovely home from home - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
20/04/2019

We couldn’t have wished for a nicer place to stay for a week in a lovely, peaceful location not far from Lochinver. The kitchen was incredibly well equipped; the bedrooms very comfy; the living area spacious with all mod cons. The whole place was spotless. Billy and Ediane made our stay easy and welcoming. The welcome pack was an especially lovely touch! The sunsets from the back garden were to die for. Great place for a family holiday.

James Allen

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
08/04/2019

Great stay. Perfect location. Ideal for a family. We would go back.

Celia

Brilliant cottage booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
03/10/2018

Fabulous cottage. Had everything we could need. Very spacious. Easy to find as long as you use directions from owner. Driving distance from Lochinver which wasn’t a problem for us but probably worth knowing. Would highly recommend.

Sue Darby

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
18/09/2018

This was our second stay at William’s lovely house- this time with friends. They, like us, were very taken with the beautiful spaciousness of it plus its very relaxing and homely vibe. Brilliantly appointed with everything you would need- great tv, bathrooms, comfy beds and loads of books, games and dvds. Located in glorious surroundings and only a few minutes’ drive to Lochinver. It’s a true gem and we’ll be back!

Anne and Allan

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
14/09/2018

Lovely house a couple of miles outside Lochinver. Nice view over the sea. Everything built to high standards, with great bathrooms, extensively equipped kitchen, cosy conservatory. Very nice welcome pack. I would definitely recommend this house to friends.

Thomas

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
06/09/2018

Superbe vue et superbe maison incroyablement bien équipée, très spacieuse et bien située pour explorer les paysages sauvages des Highlands. “Stunning views and superb home incredibly well equipped, very spacious and well located for exploring the wild landscapes of the Highlands.”

Nico

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
31/08/2018

Cruachan is much more spacious than the photos suggest, and very clean and warm and well equipped. It also has a lovely garden and views out to the sunset over the sea. Within easy reach of Lochinver (restaurants, fish van on Tuesday) and the stunning beaches at Achiltibuie, Achmelvich and Clachtoll. Excellent.

Walter

via TripAdvisor

Rated 5 out of 5
26/08/2018

We stayed for a short break in this excellent holiday home. This is a home not your average holiday rental. The house is equipped to a very high standard and everything is so clean and tidy. There is ample space for a family to enjoy and not feel cramped. The garden and views beyond are a delight. If you are looking for a house in this area look no further.

elizabeth h.

via Homeaway

Rated 5 out of 5
11/08/2018

Superb Holiday!
Hello – we had a wonderful time in your beautiful house. The house is so comfortable, and so well-equipped. A true chef’s kitchen! We very much appreciated all the little extras – we arrived late and tired after a flat tyre en route, so it was so nice just to come and be able to relax. Thanks too to Chantelle for her help in connecting us to a local garage to help fix the tyre. My 88-year old mother was with us, and the house is very comfortable and accessible for an elderly person. We will recommend you to everyone, and hope to be back. All the best,

Stan and Fiona