CRUACHAN HOLIDAY HOME GUEST REVIEWS

Reviews from guests of Cruachan Holiday Home

Read what everyone is saying about their holiday stay at Cruachan Holiday Home self-catering accommodation located in Lochinver, Assynt.

Beautiful house with amazing views

Rated 5 out of 5
09/08/2022

William is a very nice and excelent host, thank you so much that we could stay at your house.
The house is even more beautiful than it looks in the photos. The rooms look all so nice, are very comfortable and there is a lot of space. We had everything we needed and enjoyed our vacation very much. The house is in a very beautiful area and because of the good weather we could do some great walks. Thank you for everything William

Patricia

The house was really beautiful and large, fully equipped - via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
27/07/2022

Due to corona we had to reschedule the arrival date several times, William has been flexible and thoughtful every time. The house was really beautiful and large, fully equipped. We enjoyed the view and the tranquility of the area. There was a nice welcome pack ready for us and the beds were also made. We recommend the house to everyone. Our kids even called the house a palace!
Door corona hebben we de aankomstdatum meerdere keren moeten verzetten, William is elke keer weer flexibel en meedenkend geweest. Het huis was werkelijk schitterend en groot, van alle gemakken voorzien. We hebben genoten van het uitzicht en de rust van de omgeving. Er stond een fijn welkomstpakket klaar voor ons en ook waren de bedden opgemaakt. We raden het huis bij ieder aan. Onze kinderen noemden het huis zelfs een paleis!

Stephanie

Amazing house in a beautiful location - via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
14/07/2022

Amazing house in a beautiful location. William was an excellent host, with really good information and fast response, and a lovely welcome pack. The house was very clean, equipped with everything we needed and loads of different options for places to relax, whether sitting outside in the sun, or inside looking at the view from the huge windows. Highly recommend and hope we can go back soon.

Elaine

Great location and spacious and comfortable property

Rated 5 out of 5
04/07/2022

A great property that is very comfortable with lots of light through the large windows,the location is wonderful with stunning views over the bay from the garden.We also enjoyed watching the sunset from the hill beside the property.The house is very well equiped with everything you need for a home from home stay.We had a great week and the weather was kind to us as well,so we were able to visit some of the lovely beaches in the area.Lochinver is just a few minutes drive with places to eat.

Paul Steele

Location + Setting + Comfort + Space = Contentment 🙂

Rated 5 out of 5
30/05/2022

Just a quick message to say we really enjoyed our stay in the Cruachan cottage. The location and setting are really lovely. Great to hear a cuckoo every day amongst the various other bird song and owl “tweets”. We thought inside the cottage itself was quite palatial and very much enjoyed the views and comfort. Having stayed in quite a few self-catering places over the years I thought Cruachan was very well appointed / stocked. I would certainly return. Thank you.

Nick

Lovely well equipped accommodation - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
09/05/2022

Had a great week at your holiday home it had everything we needed and such a lovely location. It was nice relaxing when we got back in evening watching the birds feeding in the garden from the cosy conservatory . Lochinver is a good location to visit all the stunning surrounding countryside and it was nice watching the changing scenery as the sun set from your viewing windows . I would definitely recommend Cruachan Holiday Home.

Mike and Henri Hockley

Excellent home just outside Lochinver - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
01/05/2022

Cruachan is a beautiful single storey luxury home on the hillside just outside Lochinver with views out to sea. It is very spacious with two dining areas, open plan lounge and well equipped kitchen and utility room. A conservatory with doors out onto the patio is also a lovely place to relax. There are TVs in every bedroom. A surprise welcome pack was waiting for us and much appreciated. The garden and trees attracted lots of birds and our treat was a visit from a pine martin.Deer also came down close to the garden.

Anita Jane

We only wish we could have got there - via Holiday Lettings

Rated 5 out of 5
22/04/2022

Unfortunately, due to illness, we were unable to use the accommodation ourselves but our son and daughter were.
Annoyingly he said that the accommodation was Very Good. They loved the space, the light, fire, beautiful views, nice smells??, well equipped kitchen and the fact that the place was well maintained throughout. He stated that it was “Brilliant “.
( I still have to ask him about the “nice smells”).
They also were very appreciative of the red wine in the welcome in the welcome pack!

K Bridgen

A superb cottage in wonderful landscape - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
11/04/2022

This is a lovely warm house with a large open plan living area, comfortable bedrooms and a comprehensively equipped kitchen. The giant bath was also much appreciated. The wifi and big TVs with streaming services were a fair help when the weather closed in on several of the days we were there, but just sitting gazing out on the landscape through the picture windows and the ever-changing weather was enough.
The area around the cottage is well worth exploring, bring proper walking gear and get out into the moors & heights around the house and you will be rewarded with spectacular views of the Assynt mountains and coastline.
Good local eateries in Lochinver (5 min drive away) – Peet’s Restaurant for decent pub food, and the Lochinver Larder with their excellent pies.
We went further afield to the Kylesku Hotel for an excellent dinner and a spectacular drive past the Quinag, I will come back in summer to hopefully walk up it.

Alan Blain

Lochinver Fishing trip - via Holiday Lettings

Rated 5 out of 5
29/08/2021

Very lucky to have had such great weather again on our yearly visit to Lochinver. A beautiful house in a wonderful location with brilliant views from the house and garden. Definitely looking to book again for next years visit. 5⭐

Allen

booked via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
09/08/2021

This house is ideally placed for lovers of the outdoors. It comfortably fit our needs as a party of 5, one with mobility issues. Plenty of space with TV’s in each room complete with Netflix, ideal for a family with young kids.

John

Comfortable cottage in a beautiful part of the world - via Holiday Lettings

Rated 5 out of 5
28/07/2021

Stayed in July 21 with my wife and 2 young children. Great base to travel around this stunning area. Luckily our week had pretty good weather so we were able to hop in the car and get to the beautiful beaches at Achmelvich and Clachtoll within 20/30 minutes. Plenty of other sites and walks all around the area, and brilliant for road cycling if that’s your thing.
The cottage itself is large and really comfortable. It has everything you need. It’s about 5/10 mins down the road from Lochinver on a quiet single track road. The owner even left us a nice little welcome pack with wine, shortbread and tablet. All-in-all, we had a fantastic week. Highly recommend.

Graham

booked via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
24/07/2021

I can’t imagine better place to spend a week. Cozy, well equipped house with character and beautiful views around.

Iliana

Home from home in stunning location - booked via VRBO

Rated 5 out of 5
10/07/2021

A true home from home. Stunning setting (saw deer and pine marten), loads of space to spread out, great WiFi & TVs (a real hit with my son especially during the Euros), very comfy and warm and well equipped with everything we needed. The area is just magical with superb walks all around. Recommend the pie shop! Definitely want to return.

Nicky T.

Beautiful cottage, spacious, superbly equipped, brilliant location, gorgeous garden and stunning views. – booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
03/07/2021

Cruachan Holiday Home is a lovely, light, airy comfortable cottage. There’s lots of space and the cottage is very well equipped. There’s a fantastic smart television with access to Netflix etc. The kitchen has everything even the most discerning chef might need. The beds are so comfortable it makes getting up difficult! The garden is lovely with beautiful planting, but also some semi-wild areas. A very short walk through the garden gate takes you to a small hill with breath-taking views over the sea and distant islands – stunning – especially at sunset. We are already planning to return.

Steve & Maggie Willis

Beautiful, spacious home - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
22/06/2021

Cruachan is a beautiful, spacious home. The location is fantastic.
This is not a critcism but we did not know the drive and walk are uphill to the door. We are both a little decrepit. Having said that we were very pleased with our holiday at Cruachan. We must thank the owners for renting out this fabulous home.

John Grosdanoff

This is lovely, spacious, comfortable home - booked via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
06/06/2021

This is lovely, spacious, comfortable home, well situated for Lochinver and for Assynt. There is a gate from the garden leading to a viewpoint with magical views over the sea and the mountains. A great base for the area.

Prem

Sea view garden cottage! - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
01/06/2021

A lovely super sized bungalow in a beautiful garden with the bay in view.
The house was spotless, We loved the huge windows with views on all sides. You could want for nothing.
Excellent location also, only a couple of miles south of Lochinver.

Angela Bowie

Lovely property in quiet location - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 4 out of 5
17/05/2021

Spacious, comfortable and well equipped this property is ideal for those wanting peace and tranquillity. Sharing the space with sheep and a couple of red deer is as busy as it gets. Ideal base for climbing Suilven; the main purpose of our trip. Many other walks and stunning beaches to enjoy.

Sheila Wilson

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
27/10/2020

Highly recommended!

Krzysztof

Very comfortable and well appointed - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
21/09/2020

We have just returned from a wonderful 6-night stay at Cruachan. The house was spotless and extremely well equipped to a high standard, even down to cleaning products, cling film and logs and kindling for the stove. There are two fridges and two freezers and plenty of space to store food as well as clothing and boots. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and it’s a great setting, close to Lochinver but peaceful. It feels like a home rather than a holiday let and we certainly would return to this lovely house. The only tiny thing we missed was an ice cube tray but we just kept the gin in the freezer instead 🙂

Judith Lowes

Spacious with beautiful views - via Holiday Lettings

Rated 5 out of 5
20/08/2020

Spacious homely bungalow. Well equipped. Very light, large windows with magnificent views. Picnic table in the garden with great views of the sunsets. 5 minute car journey into Lochinver. Great base for exploring, lots of breathtaking scenery, great walking and beautiful beaches nearby.

Belinda

Excellent place, ticks all the boxes! - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
27/07/2020

Just back from a great stay at Cruachan; first stay after Covid restrictions eased. The property was spotlessly clean with well thought out provisions and protocols for the Covid situation, which in no way impacted our enjoyment. The photos don’t do the property justice, its larger more spacious and more comfortable than it appears, with plenty of room to bounce about. Also it was really well equipped with excellent facilities. The sunsets from the rocky knoll behind the house were exceptional. Location just a short drive outside Lochinver, in the most stunning countryside with abundant wildlife.is really good for everything Assynt has to offer. Finally, dealing with the owner was a pleasure, regular contact, detailed information and a nice welcome pack. Thoroughly recommend this place.

Crispin Marriott

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
23/01/2020

William’s home is incredible! Huge open spaces, lots of places to read, write, eat or cozy up to the fire. Fast wifi, smart TV, huge bathtub, spacious clean bedrooms, and windows everywhere! Staying here was a dream and the views from every part of the property are breathtaking. Highest recommendations!

Julie M.

BOOKED DIRECT

Rated 5 out of 5
04/01/2020

Dear Billy and Ediane
We just wanted to say thank you for a wonderful stay at your lovely home, Cruachan. We felt we have stayed in a real home from home and have enjoyed such a relaxing time there. The house was spotlessly clean and so well-equipped. We loved the garden which we imagine in spring would be a lovely place to sit; it was great to watch the young stags and hinds just beyond the garden.
We have had a great week with lots of lovely local walks and on the beaches which Seamus has loved. We also enjoyed a breezy but sunny walk up Stac Pollaidh.
Many thanks once again and Happy New Year to you both

Kathryn and Paul

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
26/12/2019

Du 5 étoiles !!! L’accueil, les informations, la maison, son emplacement, l’ensemble au delà de nos attentes. Merci William de nous avoir reçu chez vous 🙂
5 stars !!! The welcome, the information, the house, its location, the whole beyond our expectations. Thank you William for hosting us 🙂

Antonio G.

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
18/10/2019

Very comfortable stay in a fantastic location for exploring the gorgeous hikes and beaches nearby. Kids found the garden perfect for hide-and-seek games too.

Kate C.

Really Great – booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
01/10/2019

Great holiday cottage, lots of space, everything we needed and more. Very comfortable.

Nicole

via Trip Advisor “The Aerial Photo Says It All”

Rated 5 out of 5
21/09/2019

Cruachan House is down a single track road, very narrow (described by some as a “wee mad road”), in an incredible setting of dramatic rocks and views of the sea. The entry foyer has a fainting couch and bench for your stuff, and hooks for coats, the perfect place to stage your comings and goings. The living room has a long couch and an easy chair, a wood-burning stove (wood supplied), and pleasing art on every wall. Down a few steps to a breakfast room with large picture windows looking out to rocky hillsides and water views. A larger dining room table is between the large sun porch and the kitchen. Down the hall is a guest bathroom with both tub and shower (wonderful long deep tub, and they even supplied bath oil), then three bedrooms, one with two twin beds, one with one twin bed, and one with a double bed and another bathroom. And then there’s the sun porch, which adds a significant amount of space. Although we were there in late September, we found that the house gets hot with the afternoon sun, so we pulled the drapes and shades when we left on our daily expeditions to keep things a bit cooler. Walking up behind the house we had unobstructed views of the sea, and were surrounded by heather and stunning rocks. Lochinver seemed to have moved on to winter hours before the advertised date of September 30, so nothing was open except the Co-op, which was full of people buying for their caravans and perhaps for other self-catering places. Otherwise the town was empty. We hiked Billy’s Trail, in the Culag Woods, and had it all to ourselves. Peaceful. Quiet harbor. Highly recommended.

LandCruisers

via Homeaway

Rated 5 out of 5
17/09/2019

This property was perfect for the four of us, two retired couples. We were there for 3 nights…one of the days during a heavy wind storm. It was a great place to ride out and watch the storm. It was a good starting point for touring the area, and the house itself is well appointed. You do, of course, need a car as there is not public transportation.
Date of arrival – 13 September 2019

Hazel T

via Homeaway

Rated 5 out of 5
15/09/2019

Great location, views and walks around were beautiful! Straight forward, very easy.

Miriam S.

via Homeaway - Versteckt und märchenhaft schöne Lage - Hidden and fairytale beautiful location

Rated 5 out of 5
13/09/2019

Super Lage in atemberaubender Landschaft, großes Haus mit wunderbarem Wintergarten zum entspannen, vogelbeobachten und abschalten vom Alltag . – Super location in breathtaking scenery, large house with a wonderful winter garden to relax, birdwatching and switch off from everyday life.

Martina O.

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
05/09/2019

We had a great stay, accommodation was amazing!

Mark B

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
01/09/2019

Lovely, well equipped place in a delightful location. Lots of thoughtful extras

Bruce W

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
21/08/2019

La maison est immense, très propre et entièrement équipée. Tout s est passé parfaitement. On recommande.
The house is huge, very clean and fully equipped. Everything went perfectly. We recommend.

Jean-Baptiste

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
31/07/2019

Fantastic place – unique corner of Scotland

Annick

Everything was great. - booked via CRUACHAN WEBSITE

Rated 5 out of 5
24/07/2019

Everything was so enjoyable it is impossible to single out any aspect of our stay as better than any other. The cottage, the location, the views, the local people, everything and everyone made our stay delightful. It is a wonderful place to stay and to enjoy a great and memorable vacation.

Joe Warren

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
28/06/2019

The house was wonderfully equipped for all of our needs. It has beautiful views down to the loch. We stayed three nights and were sad to leave. Billy is a great host and answered all of my questions quickly. We were closely situated to some great hiking for which we took full advantage. Lochinver Pie Shop was amazing if you’re looking for good meat or sweet pies. I highly recommend this cottage if you want to enjoy the Highlands.”

Cathy

via Airbnb

Rated 5 out of 5
15/06/2019

Spacious accommodations and a great location for exploring the area. Beautiful sunsets! Hope to return.

Sharon

Perfect getaway

Rated 5 out of 5
09/06/2019

Lovely spacious cottage with everything you need. Large spacious spotless rooms. TV, DVD player, Netflix and a range of DVD’s available. There are fans in every room , if needed. Bird feeders in the back garden, it was lovely to watch the variety of birds feeding; we bought bird seed from the spa in Lochinver. We walked to the village within around 30-35 minutes, lovely walk; although a little hilly it wasn’t too strenuous. Would definitely recommend and we hope to return. Only downside, nothing to do with the cottage, but when we visited in May 2019 the pub in the village had closed down. By the way, can recommend the Lochinver Larder for food and drink, the pies were fabulous.

Mark and Jennifer